Back to normal

Back home!

Jotting down quick thoughts. Dad is recovering fine. Cancer still likely left, we will know in the next test at 3months. My father has been feeling guilty about not taking care of his mother properly when she was bedridden with cancer. He is also extremely scared. Who wouldnt be, when you are alone, stuck at home depressed and diagnosed with cancer. I tried to give him as much pep talk as possible. He will have a caretaker with him 24/7. He already has a cook and a cleaning lady coming home everyday. I have signed up for elder care services where they check on him, help with hospital visits and keep me posted. I will start GC process for him. I am investigating how healthcare without Medicare/Medicaid etc works for aged parents. The house will be enough to have both Dad and MIL with us, it is our duty to take care of them in their old age. I am grateful to have had the opportunity to take care of both my parents when they needed me, in whatever little capacity I could. I am thankful for DH and JSK for managing without me for 7 whole weeks. Thankful for friends to help them with food at times. Thankful for my boss and colleagues who covered for me at such short notice. Thankful for Medical Leave that is available so I dont have to use my precious vacation days or sabbatical. Thankful for doctor friends who provided inputs. Thankful for FB community that helped with inputs. Thankful for my smule friends who kept it light and kept me smiling through it all.

It is not over. This is a pause. But what dealing with this and talking to my father has taught me is, life has to go on, you cannot stop living because you are sick. I will strive to live by it even as ailments hit me. I will make plans and I will strike off goals and I will continue to appreciate small joys even as sickness hits. That is the only way you can give the middle finger to cancer or anything else.

Jetlag as usual gives me time in the wee hours of the morning to think about all the things I want to do.

  • Home renovation – Fresh mind is thinking of ways I can make this cute home more functional. Yes it is a small and a weird house, but it is cute, and it has lot of potential.
    • We will be adding a third bedroom, which will also have tons of bookshelf space.
    • We will be extending the kitchen to add an huge island, and a pantry. I am excited about the kitchen, I want it to be truly fancy with Wolf and Sub zero appliances and very modern. A real walk in pantry however small it might be! No way this size, but similar look may be.
2938 Ross Rd
  • Updating heating with radiant floor heating.
    • Expanding the master bedroom closet, so more space for the clothes that we have barely used this year!
    • Coat closet ! I dont know how we managed without one the past 4+ years.
    • Custom cabinetry for the TV wall, I am excited to have lot of hidden storage for all the sundry files DH lets lie around. We dont have this much space, but a compressed set up. And more modern with minimal lines.
53 Adorable Tv Wall Decor Ideas - ROUNDECOR in 2020 | Living room wall  units, Living room tv wall, Family room walls
  • Finish laundry/linen storage in the other bathroom, the other bathroom is bigger with lot of potential for cabinets/linen storage.
  • ADU update with a bathroom and kitchenette to be used as a fourth bedroom, and later sublet.
  • We will have a proper entry way, sort of a mudroom!
How to Build a Mudroom Bench | Crazy Life with Littles - DIY & Home Decor

After seeing some beautifully done homes, I want lot of functional well thought out spaces in the house, instead it being basic. That is what adds character to the house!

As we are going through the plans, the foundation is so old it might be easier to just demolish and rebuild from scratch, but no money for that. Even this is getting way beyond the budget, lets see! Dad wants to help with money, I told him to use his hard earned money on himself, live a little vicariously, get spoilt a little! I am excited for the half new house!

Before getting there, there is going to be a few months of rental living, lot of headaches. Hopefully this excitement will help us live through the night mare!

So much more to write but … may be another time.

Good to be back to my first world problems.

Adios!

4 thoughts on “Back to normal

  1. Welcome back, glad to hear your father is doing better. Would like to know more about the elderly care services if you dont mind. That kitchen looks fabulous.. House renovations sound quite exciting..

    Like

    1. Hi Orbit! I already responded in the other post, but I use Anvayaa.com ! Hope they will meet your needs too! The founder was very nice with a good mindset and I spoke to a couple of referrals as well.

      Like

Leave a comment